Skip to content

LIMBO Review

November 29, 2011

I just finished playing LIMBO and Portal today. Both were excellent but I’ll mostly just talk about LIMBO since I’m sure most people are familiar with Portal anyways.

LIMBO was fantastic. Here it is in all its glory:

As you can see, it is fond of black and grey. This, along with the fact that there are very many surprise deaths in this game, made it very spooky and sinister while somehow being very charming. The story is basically ignored during gameplay but that worked out fine for me. You are searching for your missing sister and so the young protagonist enters LIMBO. A scary black and white, quiet place with traps and puzzles everywhere.

The game is incredibly simple considering that your only moves are left, right, jump, and action. There is no cluttered interface, no popups to tell you it is saving your progress, no visible checkpoints; no distractions at all! The immersion was complete for me. No puzzle needed a walkthrough for me but they still took plenty of thought. While death was a constant threat, it didn’t break the immersion for me because it would always plop you right back at the start of the puzzle you were working on. Normally this could be a problem but all puzzles in LIMBO had quite short, simple, yet tricky solutions so it was never a pain to restart because of a surprise bear trap or boulder or spider or giant electric letter.

I can’t really think of anything negative to say:
1. The visuals are gorgeous in their own creepy way. I like how the edges of the screen were out of focus.
2. The sounds were very simple which simply added to the generally spookiness of the whole thing.
3. The puzzles never got repetitive even with such simple controls.
4. The game wasn’t exactly long but I wasn’t looking for that anyway. It still had a fair length, though, especially for the $5 I got it for. ($10 normally, I think)
5. I really loved that encounter with the spider. So creepy.

I do declare that I recommend LIMBO, the dark game with a cute little boy who dies a lot!

From → Games

4 Comments
  1. Haha, my dear boyfriend just bought this one too, though, I haven’t checked it at all while he’ve been playing it. After your description I think I don’t need to play this game, even though I love puzzle games. It just sound a bit too creepy for me. Maybe I’m a wuss, but I have only started Ico (and propably never playing it through), because that definitely is too scary to me. So maybe LIMBO ain’t a game for me.
    I usually don’t read game reviews, but I like your style, so. I read it. Keep up the good work.

    • Hmmm, I never played Ico. Loved Shadow of the Colossus by the same people, though. Didn’t know it was a creepy game!

      And thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Leave a Reply

