Skip to content

VVVVVV, a review!

December 2, 2011

Yes, you read that right! 6 Vs! I’m not certain on how to pronounce this one. Is it sort of like a bee buzzing vvvvvvvvvvvvvv? I doubt it is VeeVeeVeeVeeVeeVee because that just sounds awkward. Maybe you are just supposed to call it V.

uh oh

This is a short game. A cute little platformer with one simple mechanic. There is no jumping in this one; only reversing gravity. You can move left or right but also flip to the surface opposite to you vertically! This makes for a fun game and I think it is only $5 on steam normally. I got it for $2.50 which is less than a fancy coffee!

You control the captain of a ship that has run into some dimensional trouble and as the valiant leader you must rescue your missing crew by finding them and getting them to a teleporter.

I liked how open the game felt. I was able to wander (and by wander I mean float around in space and hope I run into something) off in random directions and just explore! Fairly quickly I would run into something important and do lots of platforming puzzly things before rescuing someone or finding treasure or something.

There were lots of bouncy pads, disintegrating platforms, strange enemies, silly room names, all with catchy music. I laughed when I discovered that it was keeping track of my deaths on a menu somewhere. Oh boy, did I ever pop my clogs. But that was one of the best parts. Death was cheap. Similarly to LIMBO, death just provided a quick restart to whatever puzzle you were working on. VVVVVV has visible checkpoints but they are very, very, very, very, very, very frequent (often more than one per screen) so you rarely have to worry about doing some difficult challenge over and over again. I managed to kick it over 700 times in the couple hours I played the game for. Impressive! I love these new indie games in retro styles that get rid of all the issues with old games such as pointless game over screens that were held onto from coin-op days. Much more fun with less time spent on repetition!

But my favourite part was the (SPOILER) GIANT, STROBING, CRYING ELEPHANT

From → Games

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

