Skip to content
Tags

,

I seem to be turning into some sort of poser hippy health nut

March 3, 2012

That’s right!

I had been fairly unhealthy for a while. Chips of any kind were my go-to snack with fairly small meals besides a big dinner. Fast food was convenient for lunches or dinners at work so that was frequent. My girlfriend wanted to eat healthier so I was sort of dragged along at first but I realized fairly quickly how much nicer it is.

Now, I’m making smoothies for breakfast, bringing much healthier lunches to work, and trying to buy much less obviously fake food. I found some local yoghurt with listed ingredients: milk, honey, bacterial cultures. Now that’s what I’m talking about! I’ve heard that pretty much all yoghurts in your average grocery store are not real yoghurt and are made in a way that compromises most of the health benefits. Sorry, no source for that, but I certainly wouldn’t be surprised if it was true. I do love seeing short ingredient lists without any mysterious chemical compounds in ’em.

I feel somewhat weird for suddenly buying local products; I do have a degree in economics so I understand that it makes more sense to get things from wherever it is cheapest to make. It is certainly nice to avoid those darn preservatives, though!

Local stores are much more fun to shop at instead of big chains because there are strange new local products to check out. Grocery shopping at the chains really feels like a chore. I’m sure the novelty will wear off eventually but checking out new stores is definitely something I will be doing more often. My usual store is the Thrifty’s chain which is decent enough but many smaller stores have exciting specialty stuff.

This doesn’t seem to fit any usual theme from here but hey, I wanted to mention it! I’ll try to get back into blogging on a quasi-regular schedule.

From → Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

